eat your greens

Got home on the late side this evening. Had small group for my church, so I went right there after work after a quick run into Whole Foods for dinner.

I went to Reading Terminal Market (another post for another day) on Saturday with my friend Telsa, who also has a blog, which I have subscribed to….I should make sure she is on the side there in my blogroll. We met up with our friends Krystal and Ayschia for a bit of farmers’ marketing and lunch. I bought some farm fresh organic strawberries and rhubarb for a potential pie, as well as some arugula for salads during the week, and fresh kale. I’ve never bought kale before, but Smitten Kitchen sparked my interest with a recipe for baked kale chips.

Here is my result:

She recommended just cutting or tearing the leaves off of the tough stems, after rinsing them, and then tossing with olive oil and seasoning with salt. You put it in the oven at 300 degrees for 10 minutes or so (depending on how fast your oven is), and voila.

I also went to Terrain, an amazing sort of home and garden store in Glen Mills, PA by the same company that brings us Anthropologie, Urban Outfitters, and Free People, a couple of weekends ago. I lucked up on a salt sampler that should be fun to experiment with this summer:

from left to right: Brittany grey salt; Himalayan pink salt, Alder-wood smoked salt, and sea salt.

The pie is coming….scout’s honor.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

