It’s as easy as riding a bike

Except that I don’t know how to.

Shameful right? Here is my excuse:

When I was 5 I had a little purple bike with training wheels. I was doing quite well on them, and then decided I was ready for the training wheels to be removed. My friend Jason and I went on our first spin sans training wheels, and both ended up crashing during too sharp of a turn. I flipped over my bike and busted both knees.

From that time on, I refused to ride again. My parents didn’t make me (shame on them), and that was the end.

Now 23 years later, I’ve decided that I should do something about it. My friend Seth and I popped into a few bike shops in Philly over the weekend, and the first place was so nice (Thanks Evan!) that they even let me take the bike out in the street next to the store with a helmet to get a feel for the wheels.

I’m not going to lie, I was/am still terrified. Thankfully Seth didn’t get impatient with me, and humored my panicked “please don’t let go of the bike unless I tell you to” remarks.

This is going to take  some time, I have 20 years of fear of falling, breaking a bone, getting a concussion, knocking out a tooth, and looking like an idiot to overcome. But I really want to master it. I even found a cute bike that I believe will encourage me as well:

Wish me luck! And any pointers you have will be greatly appreciated.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

