Music Mondays!

Maybe I can pull this off. I’ll try to expound a bit on what is playing on repeat on my ipod.

These days, as the summer heat rolls in like a tidal wave I’ve been listening to the new album “Rome” a creative effort between Danger Mouse (of Gnarls Barkley fame), Daniele Luppi (an Italian composer with a penchant for lush soundscapes), Jack White, and Norah Jones (as we’ve never seen her before!).

I happened upon it prior to release while scanning NPR for new albums to stream. The critics describe it as a “soundtrack without a movie.”  I’m sure we all remember the epic blockbusters of the 1990s that had film scores that did not always stand so well on their own (I don’t care what anyone says, “The Last of the Mohicans” IS an exception).

The idea of a soundtrack without a film is quite creative I think. And this album very much feels like a story from start to finish. If La Dolce Vita needed a soundtrack today, I could place Norah’s piece’s there for sure. Her voice is sultry and atmospheric and very European. A change from Come Away with Me and Feels Like Home, both of which I appreciate as well.  Jack White’s (I just cannot separate his name)  voice definitely conjures up the “spaghetti westerns” of bygone days, and the instrumentals are fantastic.

For the music snob amongst us, Pitchfork gave it a 7.0 out of 10. Not too shabby.

I reccommend listening to it with the windows down on a nice drive OR over a nice impromptu dinner party with your favorite red and good pasta and friends.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Music Mondays!

  1. Enjoyed the post.

    Def. checking out this album, I wasn’t aware of it before!

    Always a fan of Danger Mouse and Jack White though!

  2. Thank you! I hope you will enjoy it. I liked your post about Donald Glover as well!

Leave a Reply

